About Certification

This short video covers the general structure and expectations of the OHWA One Health Certificate Course which was designed for in-service professionals.  Here, you will be provided with the topics covered in the course as well as the amount of time allocated to live online lessons (with One Health professionals) as well as self-paced online lessons.  The scoring structure will also be reviewed. 

Thematically Linked Learning Blocks

Throughout the One Health Certificate Course, the participant experiences both self-paced and live online lessons with global experts.  The course is organized into several learning blocks as shown below.

Learning Block #1

  • One Health Concepts and Knowledge
  • Ecosystem Health
  • Systems Thinking
  • Communication +/- Informatics

Learning Block #2

  • Behavior Change
  • Culture and Beliefs
  • Values and Ethics
  • Gender

Learning Block #3

  • Risk Analysis
  • Epidemiology
  • Infectious Disease Management
  • Outbreak Investigation and Response

Learning Block #4

  • Collaboration and Partnership
  • Policy and Advocacy
  • Research
  • Leadership

Each learning block consists of domains that are covered in multiple self-paced lessons. To respect the time of busy in-service professionals, no follow-up work (“homework”) is required with any of the self-paced lessons. Between each learning block, participants from across the world collaborate and learn together during live online lessons. 

 This is a wonderful opportunity to broaden the participants’ professional networks and create collaborative One Health efforts to improve the health of their own communities.  All participants must complete each lesson with an overall minimum passing score of 80% in order to receive the certificate.  

Exemption Opportunity

At this time, all certificate recipients must successfully pass the course.  In 2023, there may likely be an opportunity to receive the One Health Certificate by passing an extensive examination that tests an individual’s knowledge in all of the One Health Core Competency Domains.